Wednesday, February 29, 2012

Queen's Westminster Rifles

A member of the 16th (County of London) Battalion or Queen's Westminster Rifles. They were among the first of the Territorial Army Regiments to be sent to France.

Tuesday, February 28, 2012

3 Frernch Soldiers

These three have work fatigues on over their uniforms.

Saturday, February 25, 2012

Thursday, February 23, 2012

Royal Army Medical Corps and Army Chaplin

Ten officers of the Royal Army Medical Corps with an Army Chaplin. Marked on back W. E. Bull, Photographer, Witham & Braintree.

Wednesday, February 22, 2012

Simcoe Forrester

A member of the 157th Battalion (Simcoe Forresters). They trained at Camp Borden in Ontario before heading overseas.

Thursday, February 9, 2012

Unexploded French Mortar Shells

This group is posing with a couple of unexploded French 58mm trench mortar shells.

Wednesday, February 8, 2012

Sanitätstruppe

A Lance-Corporal in the Austro-Hungarian Medical Corps. His medal he is wearing might be a commemorative medal for Franz Joseph's 50th year Jubilee.

Tuesday, February 7, 2012

Eisenbahn regiment


Five members of the Bavarian Eisenbahn Regiment in August of 1914.

Monday, February 6, 2012

German wounded

A group of German wounded enjoying an impromptu concert while recovering.

Sunday, February 5, 2012

Gefangene Franzosen aus den Vogesen.

French prisoners in the Vosges. Another card from the same photographer can be seen here.

Saturday, February 4, 2012

Thursday, February 2, 2012

The Royal Fusiliers


Two members of the Royal Fusiliers also known as The City of London Regiment. The upper one wearing Service Dress and lower in Khaki Drill.