Tuesday, August 28, 2012

To Mother with Love




A pair from a thoughtful son to his mother. The writing in pencil appears to be inventory notes from a dealer and not from the soldier.

Monday, August 27, 2012

Royal Engineer in studio

Taken at the USA Studios. They operated a number of photo studios in London and the Provinces. There is no indication as to which location this was taken at.

Sunday, August 26, 2012

Rumpler C.I

A Rumpler C.I reconnaissances plane that has suffered from a poor landing. At least the pilot had the good fortune to land in German held territory.

Friday, August 24, 2012

Tuesday, August 21, 2012

16th Infantry Band

The 16th Infantry Band while in the United States. The boxcars behind them are from the Wabash and Rock Island Railroads placing them somewhere in the mid-central region.

Monday, August 20, 2012

Sunday, August 19, 2012

Mr. Costantino Ricciardi


Many US Army recruits during the war were first or second generation immigrants so it is not uncommon to find messages not in English. Here we have greetings in Italian either to or from Costantino Ricciardi.

Saturday, August 18, 2012

Thursday, August 16, 2012

Inchcolm


This member of the Royal Garrison Artillery was stationed at Inchcolm, an island in the Firth of Forth. Inchcolm was fortified during the war to protect Edinburgh and the naval base at Rosyth.

Wednesday, August 15, 2012

Fred Markley


Fred Markley back from the war. He has a Victory ribbon bar with a campaign star.

Sunday, August 12, 2012

Wednesday, August 8, 2012

Ausmarsch photo

A simple Ausmarsch photo probably taken in 1916. Before then the cloth covers on the pickelhaube had the unit number on them.

Tuesday, August 7, 2012

Flea home

A German soldier in a temporary billet. The sign above his head reads "Villa Floh-Heim 1916". He had enough fleas there to warrant naming the place after them.

Monday, August 6, 2012

Army Service Corps in France

An undated photo of a member of the Army Service Corps taken somewhere in France.

French Chefs

A group from the 15e RĂ©giment taking a break from the kitchen.