Friday, September 26, 2014

Lancashire Fusiliers

A Lance Corporal with the Lancashire Fusiliers. Photo taken by R. White of Macclesfield.

South Wales Borderers

A Corporal with the South Wales Borderers. He has the crossed swords proficiency badge on his right sleeve indicating he was a gymnastics instructor.

With Best Wishes From the Boys

Inscribed "Best Wishes From the Boys". Two of them wear the emergency Kitchener Blue uniform given to New Army recruits in early in the war.

Thursday, September 25, 2014

Monday, September 22, 2014

War Artist

A French war artist out in the field painting a 274 mm Mle 1917 railway gun.

Friday, September 19, 2014

5th Sussex (Reserve) Battery, Royal Field Artillery

The painting squad of 5th Sussex (Reserve) Battery, Royal Field Artillery. They left England in October of 1917 for Egypt. After service in the Middle East they were stationed in India where I believe this picture was taken.

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Spahis

A Saphi from the 3rd regiment, one of four Spahis regiments in the Army of Africa at the start of the war.

Saturday, September 13, 2014

Railway Artillery

Four French 274 or 285mm railway guns with their barrels raised to firing positions.

Thursday, September 11, 2014

Monday, September 8, 2014

Liverpool Scottish

Members of the Liverpool Scottish making a show of reading the latest war news in camp. After being mobilized in August of 1914 they were sent to the defenses on the River Forth. In November they were dispatched to France.

Saturday, September 6, 2014

USS Pittsburgh

Identified on the back as being  the USS Pittsburgh, this card shows part of the crew boasting of their perfect 12 for 12 during artillery practice.

Friday, September 5, 2014

Thursday, September 4, 2014

J W Brown


This appears to be a picture of two Royal Fusiliers with the same name of J W Brown. The standing Brown has a wound stripe while the seated Brown shows a good conduct chevron and two overseas chevrons.